Bio and Band Members

AS THE SEA PARTS is a Virginia-based melodic death metal band that was founded by Paul Vanderslice in 1995. Later that year, Paul teamed up with Erik Sayenga (WARTHRONE, KRISTEL DAWN, ex-DYING FETUS, ex-WITCH-HUNT) on a three-song demo/EP entitled ‘Trilogy of Sorrow.’ The EP was released on cassette, and drew influences from the emerging death/doom scene in Europe as well as the classic Tampa Bay area death metal bands from the early 1990's. Shortly after, AS THE SEA PARTS was joined by guitarist Scott Loose (BRAVE, STELLAR DEATH, DAY OF DEPARTURE, WHILE HEAVEN WEPT), and bassist Jason Ian-Vaughn Eckert (AURORA BOREALIS, TODESBONDEN), and the band began working on a follow-up EP roughly titled '...And the Journey Begins'. The recording was never completed, and in 1999 the band went on a seemingly indefinite hiatus. In 2019, Paul completed writing a new album and resurrected the band with Erik Sayenga and Scott Loose. The new album is entitled ‘Psychosis,’ and picks up where the band left off in the late 1990s – drawing influence from the classics of the genre, while also fusing elements of old school melodic death metal with some aspects of epic death/doom and black metal. A new single has been released on June 4th 2021 titled Psychosis. The new album is set for independent release late 2022/early 2023.


Paul Vanderslice – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keys 

Erik Sayenga – Drums, Vocals 

Scott Loose – Guitars, Bass, Keys


July 1st, 2023

Hello everyone,  
                                It's been some time since the last update. I wanted to let you know that we're still alive and working on the album. I am currently finishing up the lyrics and tracking vocals for the remaining songs. I'll be updating more frequently as we are finally nearing the mixing and mastering process. Thanks again for any and all support past and present! 


August 21st, 2022

Greetings everyone, 

I wanted to invite you all to come hang out with us and check out our new lyric video for our upcoming single "Where Paradise Lies" that will premiere on YouTube next Saturday the 27th at 12pm EDT. The single will be released the following day on the 28th and will be available via Bandcamp, Spotify, and Apple Music etc. Here's the link for the premiere if interested -


August 13th, 2022

Greetings everyone, 
                                      I'm excited to be announcing that we'll be releasing a second single and lyric video for our song titled "Where Paradise Lies" on Sunday, the 28th of August. This song will also be on our upcoming album and both will be featuring the amazing artwork from Mark Riddick. The release of our album has been delayed slightly once again unfortunately, but hopefully this new single can hold you over until then. Thanks for showing interest in our music and more info to follow very soon.


For any inquiries, please e-mail -


Mark Riddick - the amazing artist who designed the project's logo -

Kyle Johnson - Mixing and Mastering Engineer's page -

Scott's other bands/projects -

Brave - Includes other bands/projects Scott is involved with -

Brave's Bandcamp page -

Element Of Fate -

Erik's other bands/projects -

Warthrone's Bandcamp page -

Kristel Dawn's Bandcamp page -